Potential Backdoor or FE Bypass

I have no idea if this is where I’m supposed to be making this post but I will digress. Me and my fellow devs are in a bit of a pickle. We run a highly profitable game that we all use as a full time job, our livelihoods literally depend on this game. We have been the target of some form of exploit attack that started today, and I’ve never encountered stuff like this before.

Entire sections of our map started getting deleted across all our servers, in some servers the entire map was gone. We have scanned through our game for backdoors in the past due to a previous issue but we didn’t find anything. We thought the issue came from HD Admin so we deleted it and replaced it with our own custom admin script. The issue only presented itself today, this hasn’t happened in the past.

Reverting to the last update didn’t fix the issue either, so if it is a backdoor, it wasn’t added between the current and last update. I am not a programmer so there’s not a whole lot I can do. I am waiting for our head programmer to get online. In the meantime, does anybody have any idea what this is or how to fix it?

EDIT: The game is currently privated because the issue was that bad, had no other choice but to shutdown the game.

1 Like

Could potentially be a backdoor honestly. You should try going in Studio and trying to do CTRL+SHIFT+F and search for ‘require’, as well as 'eriuqer` (I’ve seen people use string.reverse to specifically counteract people searching for requires.) You could also use a pretty reliable plugin known as ‘Server Defender’ which can be used to search for other specific things exploits might use.

There could also be a chance that someone is messing with some remotes, although unlikely. I would assume you don’t have server sided code that is accessible via remotes to delete portions of the map, though. Do you have any tools accessible by remotes that could potential cause this?

3 Likes