Proofing a gun system; Checking mouse details on the server, etc

Something tells me I’m way too overthinking this, so the backstory is hidden in case you need more detail, but if the ending is enough then it’s good with me too.

Details

Hello! I’m new to scripting weapons, but I made my first gun today. I want to make this core future-proof so I wouldn’t have to make another entire system if I ever need range weapons like this for my game, so I was looking for ways to exploit-proof it as much as I can currently.

I’ve stumbled upon what I consider to be a pretty game breaking one. As the RemoteEvent tasked with dealing damage to players is just put in the weapon, I find it very easy to be accessed by an exploiter. Reporting the Mouse.Target as always to be a proper target, specific or not, wherever the player is actually shooting at.

My way of trying to patch this was to send the mouse through the RemoteEvent and let the server do the thinking, even compare the target the client thinks is right to the one the server thinks about. Didn’t work, read this and we’re back at square one.

Is it enough to just send Mouse.Target through, instead of a predetermined value generated inside the LocalScript? I judge not, but I’m looking into more feedback on this.

Also some other alternatives which could help me patch up the system?

TL:DR How to check if what the client says is the mouse’s target is the actual one in a gun system, to prevent ‘aim botting’.

Your help is much appreciated!

(Edit: Solution is the general idea I went with, not exactly how I made it work but it works using Raycasting.)

1 Like

As with all exploit detections, they can be based on a statistical and behavioral analysis.