Prototype Map Builder, useful for FPS games

Map Builder

by MrBoogle

Introduction

Hello there,

I am Boogle, and I am a terrible builder. I am constantly making FPS type projects, mainly just for practice for when I can finish an actual project. The issue is, is I am always stuck with a baseplate because I can’t build anything half decent for the life of me.

So I decided to program a plugin that can use a number format to build a map for me. The number format is actually very simple in how it works.

Number Format

Each wall is a 14 character long number. An example of these numbers would look like this

This number make look overwhelming, but I assure you it is very simple to understand.

Lets go through it.
01 This is the color of the line, I have made a 99 color palette for this, which is an odd number but the main reason was I did not want to make colors use 3 bytes of data. It can easily be expanded upon.

045 This is the angle of the wall. The current map builder I have provided does not use this, but I plan to eventually make a version that uses this.

050 This is the length of the wall. This can be changed in the map builder, but the plugin will currently make any wall that has a length of <= 64 a square.

200 This is the X position of the wall

400 This is the Z position of the wall

Why this can be useful.

This plugin can be useful if you are making prototype maps for your game. Currently that is all I would be using it for. I plan to add lots of features that would actually make this useful. I was thinking of making custom entities support, so you could make the plugin create objects in certain places if you wish.

Example

Map builder

Studio

Setup

This is a simple plugin to use, but please realize it currently uses an external map builder(that is really not good) the Map Builder is an EXE file, and I don’t have plans to change this one for any more platforms.

Plugin Link: Map Loader - Roblox