Proximity Prompt Help

Salutations developers! I need help in scripting this drinking system I’m currently working on. I wanted it to adapt the ProximityPrompt feature. I made a little script, apologies as I’m new but there are errors in it.

1 Like

Well you can not do “inv.Parent” etc because your inv variable is just a string “Cup”. To fix it just change

local inv = "Cup"

with path to your cup

How in any way? I apologize as I’m new to scripting.

Where is your cup placed in explorer?

My cup is placed in the ServerStorage.

Isn’t :FindFirstChildWhichIsA used to detect an instance with a certain Class, not name? You should use :FindFirstChild() instead, which is used to find the names of a certain instance.

Also, please try your best to copy and paste your code onto the DevForum. Include a ``` at the start of your code to format it properly here.

Oh, now I know. Attempting to apply it right now. Hope it works!

Oh, I get this now. So it must be:

local inv = game.ServerStorage["Cup"]

If you’re planning to do this, you’ll have to replace the line:

if Player.Character:FindFirstChild(inv) then

To this:

if Player.Character:FindFirstChild(“Cup”) then

This is because FindFirstChild uses a string to find the specified Instance.

Update: Changed it to :FindFirstChild() and it works. The only things is that the name of the Cup doesn’t change to “Frappe”.

It was working when I didn’t add the path and replaced (inv) with (Cup). The only issue is that it doesn’t change to Frappe.

Are you able to send in a full revision of your script currently? It’s slightly confusing when I’m not sure what you’re editing exactly.

Sure! Here you go:

local prompt1 = script.Parent.ProximityPrompt
local inv = "Cup"

prompt1.Triggered:Connect(function(Player)
	if Player.Character:FindFirstChild(inv) then
		script.Sound:Play()
		wait()
		script.Parent.Parent.Drip.Transparency = 0
		wait(3)
		script.Parent.Parent.Drip.Transparency = 1