I was working in Team Create earlier when I noticed things that were in Studio were not in the live game. So I added a version number to make sure that the game instance I was running was the one I had published in Studio.
And it was…
Yet it began printing things
that I had deleted in Studio before incrementing the version number.
I then quit Team Create and played the game again. The version number was again correct and now my changes had saved.
This is odd behaviour. What I assume is that only the workspace is being saved by publishing (this is where the version number is), and that other services are not being saved. StarterGui/PlayerGui is where that print was coming from and the updates only carried over when I quit Studio.
I cannot say whether or not other other services are also not being saved.
Earlier on, I had some code that was all fine and running. Closed studio with the scripts still open and somehow it didn’t save it to the Team Create session; other people were still on the session as well. Turns out I also had a RecentSave of the place with the code I lost, still an annoying bug (or intended feature?)
All the other changes I made to non-script items saved though.
I think this lead to a modulescript of 300 lines not saving.
Opening the place later made it be the default modulescript content.
Apparently the “don’t publish while editing” can lead to (lots of) data loss…