Puzzle Assembly Script

I am currently trying to make a script that assembles puzzle pieces.
The goal is to make them all become a single model when they are in the correct position.
It doesn’t matter if they are tilted or not, they would just all need to be at least half a unit (0.5) close to each other in the correct place.

Here’s an example.
From this

To this:

I am not a very experienced programmer but I’ve tried to work around it and make the player place them in a specific board and detect if the puzzle piece was touching the right part (which would be kinda like a “coordinate” of some sort) but that didn’t work either.

Can anyone help me with this?

First you need a way to determine which pieces are your connected neighbors.

How are you creating the puzzle in the first place? Is it manually authored, or procedurally generated?

Since I’m not very experienced I built the puzzle using Roblox 4x4x1 parts and then proceeded to turn them into union by adding half a cylinder to one of the pieces and remove the other half on the neighbor piece.

Since you already know where each piece should be, you can manually somehow store each piece’s correct position (could be in Vector3 form), and then check if it’s close enough.

You could parent a Vector3Value (named “CorrectPosition” or something similar) to each piece and save the piece’s correct position there.
Then, when you want to check if all pieces are placed correctly, loop through all pieces and get the distance between their current position and their correct position:

local correctPosition = piece.CorrectPosition.Value
local position = piece.Position
local distance = (correctPosition - position).Magnitude --Calculates the distance

if distance < 0.5 then --Change the distance to whatever suits you
    --Piece is close enough to the correct position!
end

Let me know if you need help with the actual coding part of this. :slight_smile:

Hi there!
Thank you so much for the suggestion!