Question about a possible value system

Just a heads up I am VERY new to scripting, and I wanted to know this ahead of time before I sunk a bunch of time into learning to code just to find out my idea isn’t even possible.

I have a question about whether or not it would be possible to create and utilize a value system that is similar to Undertale’s “Fun Value” system. The “Fun Value” system in Undertale utilizes a randomly generated number that determines what easter eggs appear in-game and determines what events happen while you play the game. The only way to get a new random number is to start a new game.

Now I know that you can set a random NumberValue via script, but would it be possible to trigger certain events based off of what number you get? I’m particularly wanting to use this for a single-player horror game that has similar gameplay mechanics to DDLC. I wanted to use a value system to determine whether or not you see certain images, dialog, and whether or not your GUI changes at certain points in the game. For example I have a fake mouse cursor setup using a GUI that follows your real mouse around. And it would be cool if I could have a script that checks what value you have, and if it matches the value the script is looking for, it will change the GUI cursor image and GUI cursor size for a short period of time and then switch it back to normal. (I already have a GUI mouse cursor setup so I can change certain aspects that you couldn’t with the real cursor, like the position of the GUI mouse cursor.)

If anything like this is possible, what exactly would I have to learn to pull this off? And if I didn’t explain something very well please let me know, I’m not the best at explaining things. Especially ideas.

Also I hope I put this in the right category…

3 Likes

You can use a generated number as the seed for a random generator (or just use the random generator without seed) to produce random numbers.