Question about DataStoreService

Hello my fellow developers.
I have a question about DataStoreService. I currently don’t have the code since i need some advice on how to set it up.
I want to make a game like Trove (Non copyrighted of course), but i want to know if it is possible to set up a datastore that can easily handle the next list:

• Atleast 10k+ Values
  • 100 Player Servers
  • Minimal to none dataloss.

I hope this is possible, because it is the reason why i started developing in the first place, If it isn’t possible, it would be very sad. But i hope anyone with some knowledge can provide me with some tips and tricks like:

• What to know/do and what i shouldn’t do.
  • Best Practices.
  • etc…

I hope to hear from you, if not. Have a nice day.
BobbieTrooper.

I do think you can be able to save a high amount of values like that into a data store, however that depends on the values, their type and many other aspects. I am not a datastore engineer expert, but one trick I’ve seen is people use strings to save values on maybe a json encoded format. Strings length can get to like 200k characters or so, so maybe some approach of that sort could help you.

Well, I need so save a ton of stuff, Like a bunch of tools, alot of ‘other Playable Character with their own files’'. I don’t really know how to explain it.

You just need to know how to program it correctly. DataStores can already handle millions of values as seen in games like Adopt Me!. If at all, data loss is always tied to poorly structured code. You should use some good solutions to data storing such as ProfileService or my solution DataService which is a profile manager.

Please reach out to me if you need further assistance.

1 Like

The Total limit a DataStore can Save, is up to 4 Megabytes per key, which is roughly 4 million bytes, A Character is around 1 - 4 bytes.