[Question] Difference between the Script types

Hello, Devforum community!

As the title already mentions I wanted to ask about what the difference of all of these script types are and when it would be perfect to use it.

I am still kind of new to Roblox Scripting and the programming language Lua.

I couldn’t find any post that explains each type properly so I wanted to ask you guys about the differences between the Script, the Local Script and the Module Script.

What I know about the Script and Local Script so far is that the Script would be a Server-Side thing and the Local Script being a Client-Side one, however I don’t really know anything about the Module Script and when I could use that.

I hope you guys can help me!
Thank you in advance! :slight_smile:

1 Like

So how a game works is that the server, in this case, Roblox, streams the content to the client, you. Think of this like a stream, the streamer is the server and you are the client.

Whenever the streamer does something, it replicates to all clients, meaning that everyone can see it, but lets say you open a tab, no one will see except for you.

This is what local and server scripts do. Server scripts replicate to everyone, while local scripts just changes whatever is on your screen.

1 Like

This is everything you need to know about ModuleScript.

The Roblox Developer Hub should be your go to source of information. Create a topic if you can’t find it there or have a specific problem with your script.

1 Like

LocalScripts have almost all functionalities of a regular script and everything only happens for the player who the localscript is ran for. For example,

local name = "lexishh"
local Players = game:GetService("Players")
user = Players.LocalPlayer
if user.Name == name then
workspace.door:Destroy()
end

This would remove a door only for lexishh.

Serverscripts are regular scripts, if they are ran, they happen to everyone.