Quick Question About Metatable!

Guys, I got a small quick question,
So I’m still learning about metatables, so I’m kinda confused what does this piece of code do.

As we all know, the output will print the table itself, the index of the table and the nil, right ?
But I’m confused at this point : how did the function know the variable ‘x’ is the index of the ‘tab’ table eventhough we don’t tell it which one is? I think it’s because the index function is automatically define the first 2 variables as the table and the index but I’m not sure about it, that’s why I’m posting question here.
And, if it’s true, can we change the order of the variables?
It’ll be nice if you guys can share a bit of time answering my question, thank you!

__index expects you to return something.

Instead of printing within the index metamethod, you return it instead:

__index = function(tab, x)
    return tab[x]
end

I’m not sure what you’re trying to ask so this was my best guess.

1 Like

No, metamethods are managed internally

1 Like

The output will be:

{} k
nil

When you index the table, it will print the table and the key you indexed. But since you printed the result, it will also print nil. __index will return a value, but in the code, it returns nothing.

1 Like

Thank you all for spending time answering my question, but none of them is the answer I’m looking for.
This image might make my question more clearly

So it’s supposed to print the table and the key if I index them right ?
Then without printing the result, it should still work as said.
But I tested it out by delete the print(newtab["k"]) line and replace it with
newtab["k"] = 1 -- random number . The print still won’t show up

__index is a metamethod and it fires when a table is indexed with a key, to which nothing is stored, so it would normally be nil. The point of metatables is to expand the functionality of tables. __index helps us respond or point with our own code.