Raycasting in every direction of a position

I am trying to make a move in my game that can spread fire from a position. To properly spread the fire I need to raycast (to get the raycast normal to angle the fire correctly and to not place it inside walls and stuff) How can I raycast in every direction of a part.

1 Like

In increments of what degrees? Every 5, 1 etc.

1 Like

probably 20 - 30? The fire parts themselves aren’t too small so idk what a good increment would be.

This script shoots a Ray in 8 directions; 7 studs away. I forget how it does diagonals (Knowing me; probably in a very un-mathmatical way}
Also draws the ray for easy debugging…
Canabalize it.

Speed AI by RealAi Inc. - Brains 4 Zombies - Roblox

1 Like

This video explains how to do it pretty well

3 Likes

I did this recently for custom hit detection inside our game (moving from Touched to avoid inconsistencies and give advantage to more difficult to play roles).

I’m no expert with trig, I used to know it, now I just know what I need to know.

What I do is cast out from each default in CFrame matrix (LookVector, RightVector, UpVector, and their inverses), then each default varying in rotation to hit each corner. I then do the same about the x-axis.

Our code is like this, pre-indexing math library at the top of the script (although I’ve heard both it does and doesn’t make a difference, so I’m unsure):

for i=1,#matrix do

local b = matrix[i]

if i == 1 or i == 3 or i == 4 or i == 6 then -- y-axis
			local x,x2 = (b.X * math.cos(90)) + (b.Z * math.sin(90)), (b.X * math.cos(-90)) + (b.Z * math.sin(-90))
			local z,z2 = -(b.X * math.sin(90)) + (b.Z * math.cos(90)), -(b.X * math.sin(-90)) + (b.Z * math.cos(-90))
			local s,s2 = Vector3.new(x,b.Y,z), Vector3.new(x2,b.Y,z2)
			table.insert(matrix,s);table.insert(matrix,s2)
		end

if i == 2 or i == 5 then -- x-axis
			local y,y2 = (b.Y*math.cos(45)) - (b.Z*math.sin(45)), (b.Y*math.cos(-45)) - (b.Z*math.sin(-45))