Recommended Laptops for Game Development?

What laptops would be recommended for ROBLOX development? I mainly use a PC for game development, but I also like using laptops for it, since I am a student still, and having a laptop ensures that I can develop on the go, like when I’m on vacation, want to go to a public place to force myself to grind some work, etc.

I used to use my 2013 Macbook Pro, with the following specs, for this.

Obviously, my Macbook is not longer optimal for developing, especially when I boot up Studio, my computer starts to heat up and make a peculiar noise. Even when I first got it, it wasn’t the best, and in some ways, I felt like it limited me, since when playing/making big games, it would not be able to handle some large projects. I.e., very laggy etc.

That being said, I enjoy using Macbooks. I am super familiar with Apple’s framework, I like how sleek and slim they are, etc.

Are any of the newer Macbooks able to handle significant game development/playing on ROBLOX without issue, or should I look at Windows laptops? I was thinking of getting an Alienware laptop, but they are super bulky and probably overkill.

4 Likes

To be honest I am not 100% sure. I have a laptop which is made by Asus which was 1K GBP however due to it being designed for gaming but I do know someone who has an around 500 USD laptop which works fine for them. I know personally I also like using the OS of Windows just in general but also for development.

The new M1 and M2 Macbooks are 100% capable for game development (and likely won’t break much of a sweat), however if you want more power, go for something like a Windows laptop which is dedicated for gaming.

There are a lot of manufacturers that are known for their gaming lineups. ASUS is one of them (and I’m personally using a ASUS TUF Gaming FX505GT and it’s been working flawlessly for every use case (and it’s cheaper than most MacBooks you’d buy!)