Replicating 'enlarge' effect?

I’m trying to replicate something similar to @plasma_node Hyperspace arrival effect - To be more specific the enlargement of the Planet(s) // Space stations on arrival.

Below is a brief example - Although, I have been informed that this effect can be achieved by manipulating the Camera instead of the model and that is what I wish to achieve.

I know that it’s possible as the same effect is used in Starscape - Though, I’m new to Camera Manipulation and wish to develop on it.

An alternate way I achieved this was by developing a custom Tween controller that managed the size of Models and shrank / enlarged them accordingly. Though this took its toll on performance.

Any support would be greatly appreciated!

2 Likes

You could keep the model in a fixed position while you animate the warp effects around it and once an amount of time has passed you can start moving the model.

So this is actually a pretty complicated and unique scenario on my end, as I am essentially fitting an entire to-scale star system within 60,000 cubic studs (due to physics precision issues past that distance).

So the enlarge effect is supposed to represent your ship coming out of hyperspace and still moving pretty fast for a few seconds like star wars does it. The effect is exaggerated in this video. Most of the enlargement will normally be done in hyperspace as that’s where you move really far, really fast; The last bit of enlargement is just for dramatic effect. You can actually see the planet is really small at the beginning of the video because the ship is far away.

If you don't want to read this, scroll to the end. In a nutshell my system is really complex because I am doing something ambitious, but you can accomplish a similar effect easily.