Right to Erasure

I’m not a developer or anything, and I randomly had this message pop up in my inbox today over a user that played a game of mine that I haven’t even touched since 2020, already deleted the player data, but in the same message it asks me to delete the specific user id from all my records, is there like other ways I’m not aware of to delete player user ids?

prob wrong section post but w/e

4 Likes

The right to erasure request basically is a deleted roblox user who played your game and has deleted their roblox account.

The most you can realistically do is go through your datastores using a plugin and remove it from all stores. If you have an external database you should do that as well.
Don’t sweat it too much, just try your best to remove it wherever you can

7 Likes

Random question, and I know this isn’t my topic, but just for a game of mine. What would I do if I had a data store that banned users because of exploits etc. and I get one of these requests. Would I have to delete that data too? Just a question, if you have an answer.

1 Like

Yea, you would have to delete that data too. The roblox account is deleted permanently so there is no chance of them joining back

3 Likes

If you are a dev of an active game, I suggest setting up webhooks to automatically alert you when one of these requests come in. They can be done on the creator dashboard under Settings > Webhooks

2 Likes

As @Claym1x mentioned,
Roblox made an API for that already, Webhook Notifications | Roblox Creator Documentation
you will have to run a server 24/7 for it though.
EDIT:
Combine the webhook API with datastore API and it will handle it automatically.

2 Likes

I have some things set up, and Have no problems removing data from data stores. Just was curious for those types of things, if it also required that As I have 2 different data stores to handle both game and moderation data

2 Likes

What would happen in the case that I DONT remove them, will I be penalized?

1 Like