Roblox and normal maps: a guide to baking and hacks for 3D modeling

DISCLAIMER: This tutorial is not made for the purpose of directly using normal maps in ROBLOX, rather using normal maps to bake AO to your diffuse to get a higher level of detail.

Also, this tutorial assumes intermediate knowledge with 3D modeling

:honeybee: Hello! My name is Honeydewloon and I am a modeler on ROBLOX. As many experienced modelers know, ROBLOX has many limitations for meshes and configuration of meshes.

In this tutorial, I will be showing the modelers of Roblox a (somewhat tedious) hack for getting a higher level of detail on your mesh through the use of baking a static lighting into your diffuse from a normal map.

If you are unaware of the workflow for creating and baking normal maps, skip to CREATING NORMAL MAPS If you already know how to make and bake normal maps, skip to THE HACK :honeybee:

CREATING NORMAL MAPS
A normal map is an image that is used to fake high-resolution detail on a low poly model. (Though if you don’t know a lot about Normal Maps, this tutorial is probably not for you).

1. Creating a block-out
Block-outs are created to get a basic feel and shape of the model, without being a high poly mesh. Your block-out should be somewhat low poly, but have good edge flow and topology to optimize for the high poly mesh. For our purposes, your block-out should include every detail you want on your high poly mesh

2. Creating a high poly mesh
After you finish your block-out, save it to a different layer and create a duplicate. With this duplicate, add a subsurface modifier. Add support loops until the high poly has smooth edges. (Edges should not be too sharp, but they also shouldn’t be too smooth, you can control this based on how close the support loop is to the edge)

3. Creating a Low Poly Mesh