Roblox Client refuses to open (Windows 11 x64)

The Roblox Windows Client (64-bit version: version-9fd31cae223e4d53) refuses to launch on my machine. I believe this is due to Hyperion as I was able to run Roblox in a virtual machine running on the same computer with no issues.

I attempted to launch Roblox using the desktop shortcut, which invokes the --app flag like so: RobloxPlayerBeta.exe --app. Normally, this should open the desktop app/homepage.

No error message or window is displayed by Roblox. It just shows up in task manager for a few seconds then closes.

The client returns the exit code 9006 when ran in command prompt like so

RobloxPlayerBeta.exe --app & echo %errorlevel%

Roblox also refused to create its own crash dump when applying the crash configuration via ClientAppSettings.json. Therefore, I had to use ProcDump.

As I am a developer, I do have development tools installed on my machine that I believe may be causing Hyperion to crash/error, but I am unsure whether or not this is the case.

Roblox Studio runs perfectly fine. However, the Windows Store app refuses to launch too, crashing immediately after displaying the Roblox logo.

Furthermore, I added the Roblox folder to an exclusion in Windows Defender (the only antivirus app I have installed), and Roblox still failed to launch.

I am running Windows 11 Home Insider Preview Build 25951.rs_prerelease.230908-1539
Specifications:

• Intel Core i5-6400
  • 24 GB RAM
  • RTX 970 GPU

ProcDump has produced 2 crash dumps (when I ran the client once). No log files were produced. I have uploaded the dump files to Google Drive, as they failed to upload here.

Log/dump files were attached to the internal ticket by a Roblox Staff (@Focia19), due to the sensitive information they may contain, will not be shared publicly!

9 Likes

We’ve filed a ticket into our internal database for this issue and will start investigating, we will update you when we have further information.

Thanks for flagging!

6 Likes