Roblox Studio: Exported .obj does not look correctly

1. What do you want to achieve?
    Extract a model via Roblox Studio

2. What is the issue?
    Sometimes objects don’t load correctly

3. What solutions have you tried so far?
    Open the .obj in a few different 3D programs and apply the .mtl manually but with no success.

Hello, I’m a gfx artist and I make banners, game covers, etc… for Roblox. Sometimes I use Roblox studio to extract some models.

But sometimes objects didn’t load correctly.

Example: Gamer Wings ( 5313324044 )

Roblox Studio:

Windows 3D viewer:

As far as I can understand the 3D object is somehow extracted backward (opaque) and that’s why the texture is applied in that way.

If I open extracted .obj in Photoshop or Blender and load the .MTL I got the same result
but…
If I open extracted .obj again in Roblox Studio - everything is fine :confused:

I’m unfamiliar with 3D files and I would appreciate any help.

1 Like

Any help on this?

And does the same thing happen to you in the example shown? Or is it just me?

I believe I found your issue, it is because the normals are flipped which is what gives it that rainbow effect. If you check double sided you can see what you get in those softwares. In blender I know you can flip normals easily but I am unfamiliar with other 3d programs

1 Like

the mesh uses flipped faces to make the rainbow outline effect, and it seems the program you’re using to view the model flips all the faces to face outward. i do not think it’s a roblox export problem, rather a problem with the program you’re using.

1 Like

I checked the DoubleSided option, but I got the same result. Thanks for the suggestion.
If you have any other ideas let me know, because that situation drives me crazy :wink:

1 Like