Rotate camera script help

So basically I have been scripting for about 2-4 months now and its only now that I am starting to get the hang of things. So today I decided to sharpen up on my camera manipulation by making a ViewportFrame GUI with a spinning part in it. I used this developer hub article to make the camera rotate:

The Rotate Around Object script :

The problem is that the script was quite hardish to understand but eventually I think I understood it, but now there is a certain part that no matter what I just can’t get around if anyone can explain in detail what this does it would really help. :

PS/ To be honest I still struggle with CFrame quite a lot if any of you have any tips I could use it would help a lot. :slight_smile:

to rotate a part and keep its position you can do CFrame * CFrame.Angles. Example:

local rotatedCFrame = part.CFrame * CFrame.Angles(0,math.rad(rotationAngle.Value),0)

1 Like

This is not what I was asking for. But thank you I guess.

1 Like

you don’t know what CFrame:ToWorldSpace means? In the topic you said you don’t understand a certain part.

I do know what it means but not what it’s doing in this script.

In this script you are constantly firing a function, updateCamera(), until a tween has completed. Among other stuff, this function creates a CFrame called “rotatedCFrame” from an angle - that’s why you call CFrame.Angles() (in which the angles must be expressed in radians). Then (line 19) you set the current camera’s CFrame offseting a Vector3 from the rotatedCFrame.

As you know, CFrame is a property that holds information for both the position and orientation of an object, either a basepart or the camera. Well, these commands (lines 18 and 19) are essentially changing the camera’s orientation and adjusting its position (in a smooth way thanks to TweenService). In fact, this is the point of the whole script. The rotation is overwritten when lookAtTarget is true though (line 20).