Save Data From Universal Games

Keeping it simple and clear. Example: I have cash and tokens in a lobby it saves! But I want it to save from universal games relating to it as I am working on an Tower Defense Game. I want to achieve this simply and not using an external server since I never worked with them.

This would make my development on my Tower Defense Game. Extremely Easy. And I can work on events and such.

Any responses relating to this topic would be greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

Pretty sure if you just keep the key as “global” it’ll be global in universe.

I never heard of an DataStore Key nor how to keep it Global. What function does it have and what does it do exactly?

Sorry, I meant scope.

DataStoreService:GetDataStore("Key", "Scope") will create with the scope “Scope”, so what you do is just not provide it at all.

1 Like

Since I am not good with DataStores nor good at them but I got an plugin which makes an DataStore for me very easily.

So you mean that the player’s data will still be in the universe game from the lobby? So I just get that data from the player?

Also I do not know how DataStore Scopes work.

yes if the scope is global it’ll be in all universes

Are scopes basically like this? How does scope in DataStores work?

Would I need a scope or can I just use 2 data stores and get them from the universal place?

Read up on DataStoreService and GlobalDataBases on the WIKI. You could also use AWS and pay for a server to host an API gateway that routes the request to a lambda connecting to Amazon’s S3 storage-based system.

All of this requires reading and learning to understand.

Sorry. I am not good with DataStores nor know what their functions do. All I know is that DataStoreServices saves data and I do not know what Keys and scopes are however i can provide a picture of a code block to give some idea as I have this data store creation plugin. And also I cannot afford an external server.

Does an key store a player’s data?Capture