Scripting a car system

I am trying to learn how to make a car system. The car should have suspension, and shouldn’t lag or bug out. [Jailbreak kind of cars.] I don’t want to use roblox springs or a roblox vehicle seat. [If it’s easier to use the vehicle seat let me know] I want to be able to customize it in scripts completely. I am by no means bad at scripting, I am very experienced but I am new to making vehicles. I just need some help.

So I’ve been reading this post: Car Suspension (Scripted) - #6 by Oseday on how to make the vehicle.

So when the player presses E, they will enter the vehicle and the controls will be loaded into them. All of that is easy for me, I just can’t get the car physics down and I have been reading lots of stuff on it but I don’t get it.

Here is the picture of what I’m working with:
Car picture

I am wondering about how the forces and the wheels work. I have read the post quite a bit but I have a hard time understanding it and it’s hard to figure out any other methods of learning how to make cars.

What I’m thinking: The wheels have can-collide off. There are body thrusters on all 4 corners of the car. Do they push the car up or down? Are they what keep the car in the air? How do the wheels move up and down with the car but look like they have suspension so it couldn’t possibly be a weld/motor/hinge. Do the wheels use another kind of weld or are they being CFramed constantly using a raycast to track the distance to the ground? What body mover do I use to make the car move forward/backward and turn and how do I get the wheels to turn?

I don’t really need code, I pretty much need explanations because I am super confused.

1 Like

They push it up.

Yes.

Yes it raycasts downwards to the ground. The wheel model’s Motor6D CFrame is constantly being set.

Put a force and torque into the body of the car. They will move and turn it.

1 Like