Should I switch into Roblox TS

I recently learned knit game framework on Roblox studio. A friend of mine encouraged me to learn Roblox TS, a compiler for TypeScript and Luau compiler. However, I don’t find many resources and I don’t know how to use github, vs code properly (im just dumb). But switching into Roblox TS means switching my knowledge into something entirely new, I have to relearn almost everything including giving up knit and switch to flamework learn new things. I know learning new things is beneficial but is it actually worth it to switch from Roblox’s original language to Roblox TS? Sorry if I have some information wrong here, I am still learning. Feel free to correct me. I want to try it out, but Roblox TS is just a really small community and barely any tutorials online that can support me. If you have any resources post it here so I can get more support.

Honestly idk where to put this topic to, I’m thinking Development Discussion can suit on this topic but scripting still works? I can’t really tell

2 Likes

I don’t think anyone is going to be able to answer this for you. Most developers that switch to the TypeScript ecosystem because of the extensive tooling and packages it offers, so unless you have a necessity to take advantage of that I would say it’s probably not worth switching to.

3 Likes

From my experience working on many games, Knit is all you need. A tiny percentage of games are written in TS and it’s not worth the switch.

2 Likes

Roblox developers typically switch to TypeScript for its more extensive type system. (Who would’ve guessed?) If that’s something you’re interested in, go right ahead. Though it is worth mentioning that a rewrite of Luau’s type solver is in the works, and many pain points of the current Luau type system will be addressed.