Show and Tell: a portfolio deep-dive

Hey there, my name is c_aprii, and this is a general guide on what makes a good, impactful portfolio that you can reference time and time again.

Development History

Let’s begin with my history, i’m a render artist and 3D modeller/modeler, which means I have had to develop multiple portfolios in the past in order to score commissions, contracts, and anything akin to those. I am also a university student, currently in my last year of study, undertaking game development on an industry scale, which means I have had to also encounter many different portfolio types, as well as make my own.

So, let’s answer the obvious question, why do you NEED a portfolio?

Your portfolio stands to be your collection of finest work, whether you’re a scripter, builder, ui artist, animator, any development role really, a portfolio WILL be needed in order for a potential employer to gauge your work. This is something that 3D artists in the industry undertake daily too, so it’s worth getting to know the ropes when it comes to your portfolio.

Now, coming from a background where a portfolio is the key selling point in getting hired, your portfolio must be concise (straightforward) and show aim to document your skillset, now if you have experience in multiple development fields, then do document them. An example of this is if you’re a 3D modeller/modeler and an animator, then you can document both of these in the same portfolio, and so on.

Where do we make these portfolios?

Now there’s a bunch of reputable sites where these portfolios can be showcased, my go-to site is artstation, mainly because it’s super easy to get a portfolio up and running, and you are not obligated to pay for it. Other sites include: Behance, Carbonmade (free trial), PortfolioBox, Dribbble and so on, some of most of the ones I have mentioned here are free, but they do include premium subscriptions should you need more space.