So how do you ACTUALLY do abilitys for a game?

So I am a beginner scripter, used studio for 4 years maybe dabbled in coding a bit, my expertise is literally just editing pre done scripts by spending 10 hours thinking about what that bit of code does, it has gotten me far yes, but I want my game to be original (everything in it so far except the map is predone)
(with a few edits to make it look mine DONT WORRY THE CREATORS PUT IT ONLINE FOR FREE USE) but I want the fruits (which in my game which is a one piece game is just the basic super powers)
to be MINE so I don’t want people saying Oh just read this, or do this tutorial I don’t want a tutorial I wanna know HOW not follow this I wanna know HOW don’t tell me what to script tell me what im scripting does so can anyone kinda create a 1:1 step course to creating powers, not like a tutorial more like a explanation of the functions used to create it and sorta referring me to what I can go to, to create my goals, so yes I just wanna learn how

(Also you don’t have to do this if you already did the abilities thing but can you also tell me where I go to learn about datastores? learning it is like a nightmare)

EDIT a year later I full know scripting and I am a professional,
looking back on this I cringe every letter, thank you for putting up with me lol

1 Like

I kinda agree with you about the tutorials, I literally hate tutorials, specially the youtuber’s tutorials… I never took any tutorial when learning scripting.

How to do “abilities” for a game? What abilities means for you?
Sounds like you think that there is only 1 way to do it, and certain “functions” you need to know in order to achieve it, and that makes no sense. “abilities” or any other system is done by knowing how to script… knowing what the APIs does, how the engine works, what instances exists in the engine, ther events, functions etc, the basic of scripting: creating functions, handling tables, loops, etc…