So You Wanna Script: A Reference Guide for Everyone Else

Updated: December 07, 2020

Introduction

Greetings! I am NINJAMASTR999, better known as MacAndSwiss across the internet. I am an undergraduate student majoring in Computer Science at the University of California, Riverside, and in my off time, I love teaching others about programming, especially Lua.

Why did I create this thread?

While I do have a YouTube series, which you can find here, sometimes it’s not necessarily easy to link to an off-site resource. In addition to that, I feel that I can express myself easier through text rather than video, as articles are an easier medium to publish to. I often see “how do I start scripting” style posts on the main Roblox Developer Forum, so I wanted to create a place that I could point them to.

Chapter 0: Outlining your Journey

Let’s talk about your journey through Roblox scripting. Everyone starts somewhere along 4 levels of expertise, which I have outlined below:

1. Beginner

You’re probably new to Lua, or Roblox, or both. Maybe you’ve tested some templates, or used some models from the toolbox, but when it comes to making something by yourself, you’re sort of lost.

2. Intermediate

You’ve learned the fundamentals of Lua and Roblox, and you can solve basic problems. You might still be confused about more advanced topics, which usually include Metatables/Metamethods, CFrames, and Datastores.

3. Expert

You have a really solid understanding of how Roblox and Lua works. At this point, it’s less about whether or not your code works, but rather how well it runs.

4. Master

You’re a Lua wizard. You can bend reality to your will, and make the engine do things that were not necessarily intended by Roblox. You might even decide to replace default objects for your own custom ones to fit your needs.