[SOLVED] SurfaceGui that Shows Random Sentences, Certain Sentence Awards Badge

I want to make a part that when it is clicked, a random sentence appears and if you get a certain sentence (here it is “Badge For You”), it award a badge.

The SurfaceGui with a child called “GuiButton” which is just a TextButton, doesn’t change and it also doesn’t reward the badge. I’m not good at scripting so please help… script is below.

I already tried to look on YouTube and DevForum but I could only find random sentence generators and none that told me how to award badges.

local GuiButton = script.Parent 

local sentences = {
	"Badger Badger Mushroom",
	"Ahah! You'll be here forever.",
	"No badge here.",
	"Unlucky, no badge for you.",
	"Badge For You",
	"How long have you been here?",
	"This is what true pain is.",
}

GuiButton.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()
	print(sentences[math.random(#sentences)])

if GuiButton.Text == "Badge For You" then

local id = 2125641650
			print("Awarding BadgeID: " .. id .. " to UserID: " .. game.Players.LocalPlayer.userId)
			local b = game:GetService("BadgeService")
			b:AwardBadge(game.Players.LocalPlayer.userId, id)
		end	
	end)
2 Likes

Where are you updating gui button text? You are printing a random one, but since you aren’t giving GuiButton.Text the value it never technically changed unless you do that elsewhere. So the if statement will always fail with the given code.

Instead of printing it set GuiButton.Text to the value and it should work.

In other words change this line

print(sentences[math.random(#sentences)])

To this

GuiButton.Text = sentences[math.random(#sentences)]
1 Like

your problem, your only giving math.random one argument. try saying:

sentences[math.random(0, #sentences)].

The math.random function finds a random number between two numbers, the first and second number. if you give it one argument, it won’t know where to look!

1 Like