Table and Arrays, error removing NPC correctly

I am just getting started with Tables and Arrays. In the workspace I have 4 NPCs, I want to insert them into a table called ‘NPCs’ and when one of the NPCs dies it will print the names of all the remaining NPCs.

Sometimes when I remove an NPC it still prints the NPC in the output.

I was told I should try iterating backwards, but I did this and still had the same problem.

The entire code:

--services
local workspace = game:GetService("Workspace")

--data
local workspaceItems = workspace:GetChildren()
local NPCs = {}

for index = 1, #workspaceItems do
	local humanoid = workspaceItems[index]:FindFirstChild("Humanoid")
	if humanoid then
		table.insert(NPCs, workspaceItems[index])
	end
end

for index = 1, #NPCs do
	local humanoid = NPCs[index]:FindFirstChild("Humanoid")
	if humanoid then
		humanoid.Died:Connect(function()
			print(index)
			print(NPCs[index])
			table.remove(NPCs, index)    <-- I think the error is somewhere here
		end)
	end
end
2 Likes

So essentially what is happening here is that some NPC is removed because they died. This worked wonderfully and nothing went wrong. Let’s say this was NPC 3. So index 3 was removed from NPCs, what happens now?

You have 4 items in the list of

{1 = NPC1,
2 = NPC2,
3 = NPC3,
4 = NPC4}

After removing NPC 3, the list does not become

{1 = NPC1
2 = NPC2
3 = nil
4 = NPC4
}

it is instead

{1 = NPC1
2 = NPC2
3 = NPC4
4 = nil -- essentially not a part of the table.
}

And since you store the entry-id on the NPC, instead of it’s actual id, when NPC4 dies, it deletes the nil entry instead. (Effectively doing nothing.)

Well, that’s the gist of it, and how you fix it is entirely up to you.
My method would involve changing the table to a dictionary (like storing it under index = npc.Name)
But there are probably way better methods of doing this than that.

2 Likes