Team group rank Door

So in my game is roleplay based on a group. what i have been looking for is a group door that only people from an especific team, espefic rank on especific group can go throught it
I tried looking so far, nothing i could get helped with, i’m a noob on this of developing. so far this is what i have, the script somewhat works, but its very laggy and the rank id from the group doesn’t work.

local rank = 34 -- the rank the player will need to get through (out of 255)
local groupID = 0 -- The group ID the player must be in

script.Parent.Touched:connect(function(hit)
	if (hit and hit.Parent and game.Players:FindFirstChild(hit.Parent.Name)) then
		if (game.Players[hit.Parent.Name]:IsInGroup(groupID) and game.Players[hit.Parent.Name]:GetRankInGroup(groupID) >= rank) then
			script.Parent.CanCollide = false
			script.Parent.Transparency = .9
			wait(1)
			script.Parent.CanCollide = true
			script.Parent.Transparency = 0
		else
		end
	end
end)

It’s laggy because you require to put a debounce before the door can be attempted to be opened again, Also, I think the rank part isn’t working because you didn’t specify a groupId, you kept it as 0

Nope, the group id is already changed in the game.

Try this

local deb = false

script.Parent.Touched:Connect(function(hit)
	local plr = game.Players:GetPlayerFromCharacter(hit.Parent) -- Returns the player if hit.Parent is a player character, else nil
	if plr then
		if plr:IsInGroup(groupID) and plr:GetRankInGroup(groupID) >= rank and not deb then
			deb = true
			wait(1)
			deb = false
		else
		end
	end
end)

Also use :Connect instead of :connect since the latter is deprecated

1 Like

I’ll try out thanks! (((30char

1 Like

Also, do you think if its possible if someone is on a certain team cannot go through that door, like if some “good people” can go thru it but “bad people” cannot? like “Civilian” and “Criminals” cannot go throught that door even if they are in the group?