Textures and Building Fundamentals

Hello all, I am a relatively inexperienced builder.

(Textures)
My creations frequently lack depth. After viewing some helpful tips, It seems like textures could be a useful tool to use. My dilemma is that Idk how to when to use them or how to use them properly. Any plug-ins, tips, or anything that you think would be helpful is much appreciated.

(Building Fundamentals)
I didn’t want to make two topics so I just merged the two. One of my pet peeves while building is that \ my builds often with be slightly off. I did some research and saw that a potential cause could be floating point thing, however, I am no too far from the origin. My going guess is that I mess up my grids while changing increments. I use SBS btw for building. My question is what do you guys do when you need to switch from building large to small? Do you guys build modularly keeping the increments the same per each module?

Long topic, thanks for reading through it.
Thank you in advance for your reply.

7 Likes

I can answer the second question.

When I change from building big to building small, I always set the increment to a very small amount and even if I’m going back to building big again, I almost never change it.

Building in small increments is really helpful as it can make your builds more unique and abstract, even if you’re building big.

If I’m using small increments and something seems off, I usually just use ResizeAlign to fix things up quickly.

Hopefully this helped you! :smiley:

3 Likes

I had some problems with the increments aswell, there is a simple solution for this tough. The standart measure for studio is 1 stud, so what I do is to use halfes of this valour… What I mean is to divide the base number by two, this way you will have proportional increments on your build and still go really detailed by dividing the number more and more, I’ll leave the increment values for you:
(1) (0.5) (0.25) (0.125) (0.0625) (0.03125) (0.015625)