The Art of Hiring Developers

This is a post targeted towards game designers and group owners who have just started off hiring people, and it is a basic go-to guide for rules and etiquette of how to hire people, what to watch out for and what to avoid based on employees, and how to make the most out of what money you have before you hire. This might become a series, with future ones on how to keep devs working with you and how to synergise with people you are with.

This post can also be used by people who want to get hired to know what sorts of things successful clients are looking for when they hire people.

Everything here comes from my personal experience of hiring the good, the bad, and the ugly for my projects for the past five years. I am not some rich company who hires people with thousands of USD annually, but I am just a Roblox dev who uses robux to get competent people to help out on his games. If you want insider Triple A knowledge, this is not the post for you.

This is not an exclusive list, and I will be adding on to it as time goes on. Everyone are welcomed to put in their own points in the comments to help us make a comprehensive list for anyone wanting to hire devs for their game.

What sorts of clients and jobs are devs looking for?

Of course to start any tutorial on hiring devs, you must know what sort of jobs devs most want to be hired for. That way, you can tailor your job as much as possible to meet that demographic to have as many job offers as you possibly can.

In general, roblox devs consider these three main things in order of propinquity: The effort, the money, the work environment.