The Complete Guide to Lighting in Roblox Studio

Today, I’ve released a video detailing just about everything you need to know about lighting. I’ve been tuning lighting heavily for around 2 years on many maps of many different styles and decided to bring all the advice I’ve learned together into one video to help other developers make their maps look breathtaking with some easy changes.

I recommend watching the video and following along in Studio for the best explanation since this is meant to be a visual guide, but I am providing the gist of the effects in a text tutorial as well for convenience.

So first you need to make sure you can see properties and explorer. Go to view and make sure properties and explorer are grayed out. Now lighting is a Service that is right here near the bottom of explorer. To see the properties of your game’s lighting you select it, and now you can see all the properties of it in the properties window. Now, each of these properties will change your lighting in a different way. The best way to learn what these do is to experiment with each one.

(For demonstration of each effect visually, see the video.)

Now I do need to point out that you need to have your Studio graphics up to see most of these. Go to File > Studio Settings > Rendering > EditQualityLevel , and set it to the highest one possible. If your computer slows down, turn it down to the lowest level where it still works and make sure you are in a simple place like a baseplate to work on your lighting, and you can turn your graphics back down and copy it over to your map when you’re done.

Now, in lighting you can also add in different post processing effects that will add extra customization to your lighting. On the new Roblox baseplate, it comes with default lighting that is OK but still pretty dull.