The Midas Method: Make Every Game You Touch a Success

Heya! My name is CJ and today I’m giving a live tutorial + qna session on troubleshooting game design through analytics. You can RSVP for it here, it’s starting at 5PM EST!

I’m a full time dev who has been making games for 13 years now, I’ve been through the accelerator program twice, and I got a degree in game design from Indiana University - and I want to provide you with as much of that experience in as little time as possible.

What I’m presenting today is an in-depth overview of the entire game success process, as well as an introduction to the things you can do with analytics and how to do them.

Highlights:

Plotting events onto a map:

Word clouds:

Sankey charts:

Metric influence solving

Also, did I mention all of these charts are dynamically connected? For example if you were to select a single path in the sankey chart, everything updates to reflect that!

I even wrote up a tool for determining if a game will succeed before even advertising it!

If any of this sounds helpful to you, you can RSVP here!

And of course, if anyone has any questions, I’d be more than happy to answer them in this thread - but the best answers will be presented in the event :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks y’all! I hope this helps!
-CJ

40 Likes

I am not into game designing but this was a helpful tutorial and by the way I love your roblox stories I have watch it like multiple times it gives me motivation everytime I watch it, I’m sorry if this is off topic just trying to show my appreciation :smiley:

2 Likes

Thanks!! It was a surreal experience, but I’m just humbled so many people out there connected to it. Glad I could play a small part in your own dev journey! Also if you found this helpful, then I definitely recommend the event :joy:

1 Like

maybe I’ll try and give it a shot

1 Like

This might seem like a personal question. But was it hard for you to get into Indiana university?