Thoughts of my tree

Hi!

I’m working on a new small project, to practice my ‘cartoon’ building skills. I’m kind of new with building and I would love to recieve on how I could improve my tree. If there are any plugins I could use to help, please link it too!

Cheers!

14 Likes

I think that the trunk is too straight. Even though you are building with a cartoon style, try to build off of references and adapt as you go along.

For example, you’d never see a tree with exactly the same size trunk at the base and at the top, it starts thick and gets smaller.

I think that your leaves are too uniform and symmetrical, they need to have an element of randomness about them just to give the tree some variation.

11 Likes

Thanks for the feedback. I’ll work on it.

1 Like

Personally to me, the leaves makes the tree look like one of those directional signs.

I would suggest modeling some low-poly palm leaves or so…
Example:
Untitled

Like RedDuck mention, try extending the width of the trunk for a more cartoon look, unless that is the aesthetic you are going for.
Example:

I think you’re on a great start with the different variations of colors in your trunk!

15 Likes

I would say that the leaves look very symmetrical so I would suggest that you make them more random angles, positions and sizes. Try to also avoid making the different colour leaves go in rows like yours, make sure the different colour leaves are dotted around and not clumped together. Also try and make the trunk less straight, try to make it more random. The plugins that I would recommend for building is:
F3X: https://www.roblox.com/library/144950355/Building-Tools-by-F3X-Plugin
SBS: https://www.roblox.com/library/260276858/Studio-Build-Suite
This isn’t a plugin but Blender is really good at making ‘cartoon’ like trees if you take the time to learn it.

7 Likes

If that was made in blender…not bad!