Tips for a new *ORIGINAL* Roblox Simulator?

One of my goals as a game dev is to make a 1 game in every genre; fps, rpg, etc. I come into these genres with limited knowledge, save simulators. I’m aware of the negative connotation around Roblox simulators (clicky ones, not ones that actually simulate stuff) about being mindless little gambling games for kids.
So. I want to make a Roblox Simulator that’s actually enjoyable.
I’m sure you’ll need some context to help me a bit, so I’ll tell you that it’s a simulator in which you help save the earth. (Water plants, pick up trash, etc)

• I’m looking for an alternative to the whole pet system, y’know, random cubes come out of an egg thing. These pets often provide enhanced gameplay such as doubling their in-game skills and stuff. What would be a better alternative to this, OR a better way to tackle this system?
  • I’m not very good with gameplay loops, or what really is enjoyable gameplay, so how can I make the gameplay not become stale quickly/be fun and exciting?

• Any other good ways to revamp what are currently not very enjoyable parts of Roblox Simulators?

Thanks for your help!

3 Likes

What about creating a simulator that allows you to build other simulators :joy:

6 Likes

Not a bad idea, but I think that would be more like a tycoon. I’ll definitely add it to the list lol

2 Likes