Tips for building smooth, realistic trains?

So I’m relatively new to train building, having only built a total of 4 trains myself and having to have my friends build them for me (don’t worry they got paid), and I was wondering how I could get them to become realistic.

Games such as Grand Continental Railways, Terminal Railways, Rails Unlimited all have “smooth trains” which are as they sound. Here’s an example from TR: image

Now from my experience, I’d never be able to do that as all my trains are, well, “blocky”. Any ideas?

14 Likes

@BuildIntoTrains

5 Likes

I bet all of that “smoothness” is made using meshes of different kinds. Must’ve taken a really long time to create that train.

Other than that, practice makes perfect. I’ve never tried building a train myself, but 99% of the the time builds look more realistic the more you practice (if you’re aiming for realism, of course).

7 Likes

Taking some time to learn how to create things in Blender might be something to consider. I recommend starting with this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYj6e-72RDs

This is the same tutorial my friends and I have used, and we now all create in Blender more than build in studio.

10 Likes

Time, practice. Time and practice are the keys to success. Meshes are probably in there, so you’ll need to master that. Keep trying, trying and eventually you’ll have a perfect train, which shines like gold in other’s eyes.

7 Likes

Realistic trains such as this one from “Terminal Railways” take alot of time and effort to create. There are two solutions to getting this smooth look:

1. The first (and easiest by my opinion) solution to this problem is to smooth it out manually by using the negate/union tools. You can take your blocky design and smooth it down with negated blocks just to make it look better.