Tips for styles of programming

Hey there! I’m MrAsync. I’ve been programming with Lua for almost 4 years. I’ve been improving constantly and have learned a lot. However, I’m at a point where I would like to improve my code organization, efficiency and readability.

What am I looking for?

To put it simply, I would like some tips for the following from experienced programmers

• Commenting styles
  • Efficiency
  • Code organization
  • General tips

Here’s some examples of my current code as a reference. Am I commenting too much? Are my functions efficient? How is my inner-script organization?

Any tips help. Thanks!

3 Likes

First off, your editor colors are on point. I’m gonna need to see the sauce on that chief :thinking:

• I like your spacing.
  • I think you have way too many comments, which can get confusing fast. I think the “Asyncronously flip vehicle” comment is the only one that is arguably worth keeping here since it summarizes a block of code; every other comment here is not really helpful to pointing out anything that is not already very obvious just by reading the code.
  • Your variables are well named.
  • Mostly a personal preference, I think you could benefit from either using guard clauses, or grouping your conditional statements up more.
if (gameProcessed) or (not vehicle) or (inputObject.KeyCode == Enum.KeyCode.F) then return end

or, spaced out differently (idk if this is considered messy or not)

if (gameProcessed)
	or (not vehicle)
	or (inputObject.KeyCode == Enum.KeyCode.F)
then return end

or

if (not gameProcessed) and vehicle and inputObject.KeyCode == Enum.KeyCode.F then
    --code
end

I think your code is pretty much fine except for the over-commenting.

and how you misspelled the bodyGryo variable >.>
5 Likes

Comments