Tower Defense Placement System

I want to achieve a Tower Defense Placement System similar to the one in Tower Defense Simulator. All towers shall be placed with a certain distance between them. Some towers can only be placed on higher places (e.g.snipers) while some can be only placed on the ground.
How would I make such a system? Is it worth to take a look at Ego Moose’s Placement System? If so how to check wheter the tower is on a higher place?

Any help is welcome :slight_smile:

1 Like

One method of determining where you can place something is by setting the ground color to something different on higher places.

Please note that I have never tried this before though so it is just theoretical.

I would definitely recommend looking into the Tutorial by ego moose it’s a really great and can be applied to many systems, but in terms of checking distance between towers and if its enough to place, magnitude or even artificial hit boxes can be used. Height can be determined in many ways using rays, getting distance from a plane, or even calculating Altitude in general

TD;lr there are many ways to go about creating a system like this, it does somewhat Boil down to what you find the most sufficient

1 Like

There are many different ways to handle this, but in my years of creating similar systems for home customization etc, I’ve never been hindered in just taking the simplest approach.

I would put all “towers” inside a folder or model in workspace. Whenever a player is placing a tower, any time the tower moves calculate the distance from the tower that is being placed to every tower inside of the model. If it’s far enough away, great. If it isn’t, recolor the tower that is being placed to red or whatever and don’t allow it to be placed down until the player moves it away.

As for the height, just setting the name of the part that the tower is being placed on to “SpecialHeight” or whatever has always worked for me by using mouse.Target.

Hope this helps

2 Likes