Triggering A Proximity Prompt Via A Script

Hello!

So I was just wondering if it was possible to activate a ProximityPrompt without somebody every interacting with it. For example I have a ServerScript and a ProximityPrompt. Now you can activate that ProximityPrompt but I can also activate it whenever they touch a part using a Script. Is this possible or do I have to use RemoteEvents, etc.

Thanks!

You can use ProximityPrompt:InputHoldBegin() and ProximityPrompt:InputHoldEnd(). Alternatively, you can just run the function connected to ProximityPrompt.Triggered when the player touches the part.

2 Likes

I just went on the roblox documentation to look this up. This is what I got:
InputHoldBegin(): void

Fires a signal indicating that the user began pressing the prompt GUI button.

Wouldn’t this kind of be the same as doing .Triggered? Im sorry if im wrong since this is my first time seeing :InputHoldBegin() or if I did not explain it clearly so I will try to explain it again.

Instead of trying to activate code whenever someone uses the ProximityPrompt t I would like to activate the ProximityPrompt myself without anybody even being near it or pressing the key at all.

Thanks For Replying!

wait, so you just want to trigger an efffect that a proximity prompt would have if a player used it, without a player using it?

in that case, just save the function like this

function triggered()
    --do something
end

proximityPrompt.Triggered:Connect(triggered)

--then you can also trigger the function without a player by just using "triggered()"

triggered()

Not really in the same script. But I just realized I could use a module script to achieve this effect right?
edit: I just realized that the function does do script.Parent so idk if module script will work.

That is correct, although I am confused how the function is in a different script than where you are detecting the Triggered event.

pass over all objects used in the function as parameters for use