Trouble with pcalls

Hello devforum,

I have a GUI system where when you close it, I want all the elements inside of it’s visibility to be turned to false. I know you can simply disable the GUI itself, but I won’t go into why I’ve chosen not to do this.

To do this, I have grabbed all the elements of the GUI using GetDescendants;

Now, my GUI contains instances which do not have the property of “Visiblity” such as UIAspectRatioConstants & Folders. So I found a tutorial which showed how to combat this. I writ down the code and hit test only to find this message;

To make sure I hadn’t just written my code wrong, I copied and pasted exactly what the tutorial had;

And below is the part of the script which references the function

Even doing the example of what the tutorial had (a simple print message) the same error occurred. I thought pcalls were supposed to ignore errors and continue the function, correct? Correct me if I’m wrong since I’ve had little experience with pcalls.

That’s strange, I tested the same thing you did, and it seemed to work for me. Just a few simple things you could consider to help debug:

• Are you sure the error is coming from that part of the code?
  • Try adding a delay before the loop
  • Try integrating the pcall directly into the loop
  • Restart Studio - sometimes I spend a while trying to figure something out and it turns out it’s just Studio being broken

If all doesn’t work and you are unable to find a solution, you could just check if the element is a Frame, TextLabel, TextButton, etc.

1 Like

Could you try checking if it is an TextLabel, TextButton or a Frame?

if v:IsA("TextLabel") then
-- Your code here
end
1 Like

Well, it’s strange how this isn’t working…
What you could try instead is checking if the descendant is a GuiObject
Like this:

for i, v in ipairs(sp:GetDescendants()) do
    if v:IsA("GuiObject") then
        v.Visible = true
    end
end

As far as I know, all GuiObjects have a Visible property.

2 Likes