Tweening a part?

So, I’d like to tween a part to a location, but not a specific location, like a couple studs to the right/left. Is there any way I could achieve this without having to set the position specifically? If this is too vague, please tell me, I’m not very good at describing things.

3 Likes

Just add a Vector3 to it’s position. For example:

part.Position = CFrame.new(part.Position + Vector3.new(0,0,1))

If you’d like to acheive this in a smooth-motion like tween [without actually using a tween]. You could use a for i loop :

for i = 1,10 do
    part.Positon = CFrame.new(part.Position + Vector3.new(0,0,0.1))
end

That would move the part 0.1 studs / 10 times, which equals 1 stud

This is a very simple way to do it, if you’d like to use the new tween API you can find information about that here:
https://developer.roblox.com/en-us/api-reference/class/Tween

7 Likes

Nice explanation, but when actually setting the Property of the part itself, you would have to Set the CFrame property to a CFrame value, not set the Position property to a CFrame value

2 Likes

Yes you’re correct! I’m not sure which one it is, but one preserves orientation correct?

I think using .Position preserves orientation, I might be wrong on that.

2 Likes

It would, however it also accounts for collision, so if there are objects in the way, the tween/loop might get obstructed (assuming cancollide is true)

2 Likes

Really? I’ve never experienced that before. Usually it just goes through all the parts lol

2 Likes

This is no longer true, there was an announcement about this way back when. It’s about halfway down the post I think:

2 Likes

hmm, interesting, thanks for showing me this :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hey, I know I’m a bit late, but how would I change the speed/length? In short, how do I change how far it goes?

If you’re using the code from earlier, the for loop would determine how long/how far the movement.

for i = 1,10 do -- The 10 here would determine how far/how long