Unsolved Combat system network ownership problem

I have a combat system in Roblox inspired by TSB, However I’m struggling with network ownership issues, particularly when combining knockback with ragdoll. Here’s the problem:

1. Knockback (short pushes with each punch using linear velocity) and ragdoll require transferring the enemy’s network ownership to the attacking player to work correctly.

2. For Ragdolling, I apply the network ownership of the enemy’s torso to the attacking player right before the final punch. This works fine because the ownership naturally returns to normal when the enemy gets up most likely because of humanoid state.

3. However, for knockback on regular punches, I face a dilemma:

• If I apply network ownership before each punch and unapply it after, The ragdoll stops working because the ragdoll is initiated after the last punch in a combo.
  • If I don’t unapply network ownership, The enemy’s character would not function properly because of network ownership…
  1. I need a way to temporarily apply network ownership for each knockback and also the ragdoll and then unapply it after.

In essence, I’m looking for a method to apply network ownership before each knockback (including ragdoll initiation), execute the knockback/ragdoll effects and then unapply the network ownership immediately after - all while ensuring that these operations don’t interfere with each other.

(local script combat client):

local function executePunchSequence(isPunchHold)
	if currentPunchPosition >= 5 then
		currentPunchPosition = 1
		return
	end

-- Set up animation and markers
	currentTrack = punchAnimationTracks[currentPunchPosition]
	local markerConnections = {}
	currentTrack:Play() -- this is just the punch animation

-- Set up hitbox
	task.spawn(function()
		hitboxSet()
		hitboxDeploy()
	end)

-- Handle hit detection
	task.spawn(function()
		hitDetection(function(hitPlayers)

for enemyCharacter, _ in hitPlayers do -- for every player hit