Usage of local variables in outermost scope

I’m new to Roblox Lua but I have experience in other programming languages. I found many tutorials on the web, and all of the tutorials use local to create variables – in the outermost scope. For example:

local someVariable = "foo"
local someVariableAgain = "bar"

function someFunction()
    -- some code here
end

local in the other programming languages I used, are used to hide variables from other scopes, so you won’t accidentally overwrite them. I’m wondering now, what is the usage of local in the outermost scope. I searched the web, but can’t find any info. They don’t seem to be a required syntax of Lua when creating variables, because someVariable = "foo" seems to work fine in the Roblox Studio command bar, and in scripts too. Can someone bring up a reasonable explanation?

2 Likes

local to be used globally in a script is generally up to preference from what I infer. It isn’t necessary to use it in the outermost scope. local only really serves a real purpose when using it in lower scopes, particularly within functions.

From what I’ve read on a thread on scriptinghelpers, accessing local variables are faster than accessing global variables when used in the outermost scope. Mind you, this is only from what I read, I don’t know how true this is or not.

2 Likes

Oh wow, I didn’t know that. I found something after googling ‘global and local speed lua’ and found this stackoverflow post. It says:

The difference in running time is due to the difference between hash table lookup and array lookup. An interpreter might be able to place a local variable in a CPU register, but even without such cleverness local variables are faster to access.