Values can be hacked?

I’m working on a game and im going to set some stuff in values, and my question is that the values can be changed by hackers? That’s it, thanks for reading :+1:

4 Likes

Yes they can, but as long as you don’t let them arbitrarily change it on the server, this won’t be an issue at all.

4 Likes

What do you mean with arbitrarily change? I’m not too good at english…

Values are visible to both the client and server depending on the location they are in. The client (an exploiter) can change that value all they want, however it will only appear on the client. Other clients will not see that value change.
Only the server can change the value to show up for all players.

1 Like

Like whenever they want to do it

As long as you change them on the server, you should be fine, if you change them on the client, yes, they can be changed.(Also, do all checks on the server, not the client)

So, setting a value, the hacker can change it but the server will see the value as the default that has been selected?

If an exploiter changed it without a remote, the change will not replicate for everyone else thus be useless.

The tables turn if you have a remote that does this – they can abuse that remote if you don’t have proper sanity checks.

1 Like

The server won’t see that change. It’s like pulling something out of your pocket when nobody can see you. Nobody is going to see that change. Only you.
In the same example, lets say the server (or another person) put something in your “pocket.” Both of you would see that.

Only the server can change a value so others can see it.

2 Likes

Do you know any solutions to it?

There’s no solution to it. You can’t stop the client from modifying their side. You just have to ensure the server handles everything possible.

By either

• Not having such a remote
  • Have such a remote, but with proper sanity checks. Don’t let the client tell the server what to do.