Wanting To Build A Big City But Don't Know Where To Start

So, I am trying to build a big city full of roads and buildings! The problem is, where do I start? I keep attempting it but I never finish, please give me some help on how to build a city, since I’m a beginner at building.

2 Likes

definitely plan out what you wanna do first, i like to draw maps in paint3d or paint.net for example

then figure out what you’re gonna do first whether that be roads or essential buildings
have maybe a props kit to place around like street lamps or trash cans

2 Likes

That’s the thing, what do I plan? My problem is where do I start? The Bridge? The Town?

Draw a full detailed map, I always do that, with pencil and paper, then, I make a minuscule version of the city in roblox, and finally I start building the real thing, don’t start on a toilet, start on something more iconic and important.

3 Likes

Can you send me a model/sample of what the map should look like? What I mean is the template for it. Is there a color marking system?

1. Draw a layout
  2. Block it out using parts in studio (just rectangle parts)
  3. Fill in details with higher quality buildings that you make
1 Like

Here’s what I would do because I’m on the same page as you but I have several things in mind.
First of all, listen to what the other developers are saying by making a map on paint.net so that you have a rough idea on what you want. And depending on what type of city you want, you can take a look on Google Earth where you can get an idea on what buildings you want. For me, I’m compressing the city I want where I can make two be one city as the buildings can blend well together.