We need a coding environment, not a coding window

I have been using Visual Studio Code + Rojo for the past few months, and it has been a decent experience. As a solo programmer however, I don’t find that I reap the benefits that a team would, so it makes more sense for me to just use Roblox Studio.

After wiping my computer recently and deciding not to setup Rojo again, here are my thoughts after returning to Roblox Studio:

For as long as I can remember, (I’ve been coding on Roblox since 2009) opening a script has always just opened up a window within the panes of Studio. It is about time we get a proper coding environment. I especially empathize with people who have small screens. It feels inappropriate that the thing you are focused on is only 1/4 the size of your screen. Sure, you can pop out the window, and sure, you can just press X on the other panes. But there are nuances to these things that make coding in Roblox Studio a lesser experience. I don’t need to see Toolbox, Asset Manager, and Terrain Editor when I am coding. But I would like them to be there when I close the script. Also, Explorer is great, but if I am coding, I would like to also be able to see a quick file-viewer of all my scripts, similar to VS Code. Explorer can sometimes have lots of nested instances that force you to either scroll around and try to find your script/instance, or have to search for the script/instance name specifically.

I hope this feedback will be strongly considered. I’ve definitely seen a lot of posts even from 6+ years ago complaining about the struggles of using Studio on a small screen. I don’t have a small screen, but I think people have just got complacent with this because it’s how Roblox Studio has always been.