What’s the best way to store models?

So I’ll give some context. In my game I’m working on I’m going to have have a shop that players can buy skins for their weapons from (actual models, not just retextures). These purchased skins will then go into a player’s inventory where they can be equipped and unequipped.

In the game there’s 5 rarities, each weapon skin is assigned a specific rarity. I want to be able to store the image for the skin, the rarity & price, and the skin itself all in one place.

What would be the best way to store all of these skins in a centralized place where everything can access it? (The shop, inventory, and the player’s Hotbar for equipping).

What would be the best way of executing this? I’m fairly new to scripting (started in mid March) so I don’t know if my idea would work.

Could I use a dictionary to store all the values such as rarities, imageid, price, and also the model? If so how would I access the dictionary in other scripts?

Or could I use ModuleScripts in some way to store all the info? My knowledge on module scripts is pretty limited.

Is there a better way to do this? Let me know!

2 Likes

Okay I found out I can make a dictionary inside of module scripts. So would I be able to access everything in other scripts just fine? Say for example when a player buys a skin from the shop and it goes into the inventory. How would I make the rarity, image id, price, and model all load as a new button inside the gui?

if you are using an object use replicated storage so you can clone it from there.
module scripts are typically used as tables in a separate script and normally just for organization.
there is probably other uses for module scripts other than organization but I can’t think of any examples.

edit: just understood what you meant. yes you can use module scripts for that and i would highly encourage you to use a module script for the organization as it is a good habit to get into and could help you code more efficiently.