What are some game genres that I could work on to learn some extra skills?

For most of my development career, which has been pretty long but not as fruitful as I hoped, I’ve been involved in making one sort of game genre: tycoons.

I do pretty ok off my main project, but I basically have all my eggs in one basket. I’d say I’m an average programmer, I’m not super advanced and I’ve never used the more orderly programming etiquette such as OOP, and I’d say I suck at making vehicles ground up. I’ve also never really worked with camera manipulation either.

I used to build, but my building style has definitely not progressed past the 2014/2015 level and at this point I just outsource my building, either from my developer friends or hiring different, third party contractors, something I’ve been doing since 2015.
Between 2017 and earlier this year, I fell off of constantly deving, but I’m trying to get back into it.

As I am slowly getting back into developing, I have a few. questions
1. What topics should I focus on?
For example, I’ve never created a vehicle from scratch (however I’ve worked and heavily edited numerous other open sourced systems), and I know for many games, OOP and vehicle creation are heavily intertwined. What resources on the Community section, developer site, etc. would be helpful for these and more?

2. What would some game genres/projects that would be useful to expand my skills on?
Right now, tycoons are my thing, but even then, that gets old. However, I’ve seen some newer tycoons come around, like this, where it’s like a Command and Conquer game, while still being a tycoon. Having AI soldiers/vehicles as a core part of my game would certainly be something I’d be interested in,

3. Building
Building was never really my thing, though I’m interested in this building style that games, such as simulators, use.