What are some tips for a reliable datastore?

Hello everyone, im a wannabe developer trying to get some tips on making a good datastore. I currently have made a basic one that i use, but it completely crashes and stops saving if i have 4 or more values being saved.

So, can anybody share tips and the basics of making a more reliable datastore so that i can save more values for more complex game ideas?

1 Like

How are you saving your values? Realistically you should be putting your values which you want to save in a dictionary, then saving that dictionary in the datastore.

3 Likes

Well something I have implemented, (which I try my best to make the most performant) is a data validation check whenever I set the data of a key. I essentially check to make sure the data exists, and that it’s valid, if it doesn’t it’ll revert to the last data.

3 Likes

Honestly, just use already made modules like ProfileService. Unless your goal is to make a public datastore module someday, or you have a unique scenario that requires a custom datastore, it’s better to rely on people that know what they’re doing and have already built a module.

It will save you lots of time and headaches in the long run. I specifically prefer ProfileService because of how versatile it is compared to other modules like DataStore2.

You also compromise your game’s wellbeing and players’ data if you don’t know what you’re doing.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies already, ill look into each method individually and hopefully get a better script

Personally, I’ve never really been into using external modules for datastores, because I don’t see the issue with DataStoreService, or real benefit behind other modules. (Just me personally tho.)