What do you think of my smooth terrain?

This is my first attempt at smooth terrain and so far, this is what I came up with. It’s currently not finished and I am looking for some opinions on it before I finish it up. If you couldn’t tell, I am going for some medieval type look.

25 Likes

Hey Nosniy,
First of all let me tell you that it looks like you’re a natural with smooth terrain! I really enjoyed looking at your build.
As to some criticism, I would say that you should look more into the distribution of the houses and the terrain, if you begin analyzing it for a while it begins to look kind of weird (well, to me at least).
Regardless, I really loved it man.
Great job.

3 Likes

It looks nice but you can improve on a few area’s like:

• The hill tops look a bit rough and jagged
  • Add mud in places to make it look better
  • Make river wider and add sand to its sides
7 Likes

I think it looks really nice. Great job! The only piece of criticism that I have is that you should make the river a little wider like the OP said.

What you have done well on:

• The trees look nice. You have’t just gone with one type of tree, you have multiple types of trees.

• You have varied the houses and not just copied and pasted them.

• The terrain looks nice.

2 Likes

I really like how this is looking so far! Here are some tips I can give you to help take this to the next level!

• Add more variety of textures: I’d recommend adding tiny patches of rock or dirt in to the ground every now and then to give it some variety, this can also be done with the mountains.

• Changing the colour of the terrain: This is looking really nice but I’d personally lower the green a bit and make it a bit more smooth with the map.

• Colour variance: This falls under the previous one but a good idea is to colour the leafy grass as a darker green and use it to highlight parts of your map (trust me it looks very nice).