What do you use to plan your builds?

Hi. I know a lot of people out there plan before you build, like you draw the things that you want and take some images, but I have never done any building before so I have a few questions.

1. What do you use to draw (like a sketchbook or an app, if it’s an app, please tell me what app you use).
  2. What if I’m not good at drawing(I really cannot draw very well), then what do I do to plan out the build?
  3. Is there a certain website you use to get your pictures or do you just google them or take photos?
  4. Are there any other methods you would use to plan your builds?

That’s all. Thank you so much for all the help!
If this is supposed to be in #discussion, please tell me so I can take down the post.

7 Likes

I don’t usually plan out my builds, when I do its horrible cause i cant draw, I just usually have a good idea of what I want, then go from there.
For inspiration, I just search things up on google images, and for question 4,
I use a project management thing like trello.com or clickup.com , both work very well.

6 Likes

Feedback

It depends what you want to build. For examples, for larger and more detailed builds, there’s a much longer degree of planning present. From personal experience, I should examine the size of the building (usually metres) and compare it to Roblox form. Once the size has been determined, I would examine depth and positioning. After that, I would pin point the corners of the build to prevent any anomalies in size and disproportions. Then I just build.

3 Likes

Thanks for the idea, I didn’t really think of using a project management website to plan my builds. I may give it a shot and see how it goes!

2 Likes

As a realistic high detail developer I use a number of resources to assist me.

• Google Earth
  • Google Images
  • Google Maps
  • Sketching