What is the difference between ipairs and pairs in for loops?

Hello, I have been pondering over this question for quite a few years, and now I feel that it should be brought to light. What is the difference?

eg

for _,v in pairs(game.Players:GetPlayers()) do
        print(v)
end

for _,v in ipairs(game.Players:GetPlayers()) do
        print(v)
end

Both of these lines seem to function identically, and I have used ipairs and pairs interchangeably as a result.

14 Likes

You shouldn’t use them interchangeably, as they have different behaviour when you really try them.

The difference is, with ipairs, you only traverse the array part of a table, and if nil is encountered, ipairs, or I should say the function it returns, stops in its tracks.

Here is an example:

t = {9.734, 8, nil, "nice"}

for _, v in ipairs(t) do
    print(v)
end

Output

If you want to guarantee order, use ipairs/numeric for loop.

This link explains a way ipairs can be written and explains how ipairs works too.

80 Likes

From all of my research, nobody has mentioned this. Thanks a bunch!

9 Likes

So in pairs doesnt guarantee order even in an array?

1 Like

Apologies for the bump - just have a follow-up question.

I’ve seen countless explanations of the differences between pairs and ipairs, but no explanation as to when we would actually want to rather use ipairs over pairs.

Isn’t the guaranteed “safety” of the pairs loop, as well as its ability to pinpoint multiple nil values after the first nil has been found, much better than that of ipairs, which just ends as soon as it sees a nil in the array?

Personally, I would just perform a pairs loop and check for nil if I ever had an array that had the possibility of having nil values. So perhaps there is no big difference, and it just depends on your preferred coding style?

6 Likes

(You can search it up, there are some articles on devforum about that)